Physical Address

BOX 5, Westhoven, 2142

Volkswagen celebrates best performing dealers at annual Grand Prix Awards ceremony

  • Dealer of the Year awarded to Lemmy Dolezal from Alan Hudson Motors
  • Lowveld Group won Micro Dealer Group of the Year
  • For the fifth year in a row, the Hatfield Group won the Macro Dealer Group Award

Johannesburg – Volkswagen’s 29th annual Grand Prix Awards ceremony was hosted at the Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit on 12 May 2022, to celebrate and recognise the dealers who have out-performed throughout the year.

The annual Grand Prix Awards ceremony was presented this year as a hybrid-style event where dealer teams from around the country were hosted both physically and virtually in order to honour their hard work and accomplishments. In anticipation of the imminent launch of the new Volkswagen Taigo compact SUV, the prestigious gala evening was themed, “Taigo – Let’s Go”.

“The 109 teams that make up our dealer network are a vital part of the Volkswagen business. As the ‘People’s Car’, it is crucial that we acknowledge the people who contribute significantly towards our annual sales and who’s ongoing hard work and loyalty help drive the Volkswagen brand. Their accomplishments and dedication should never go unnoticed,” said Steffen Knapp, Head Volkswagen Passenger Cars.

The Grand Prix Awards ceremony recognised 86 dealer network colleagues across 15 awards categories, including the two most sought-after awards, the Micro and Macro Group of the Year.

Juraj Dolezal of the Lowveld Group won this year’s Micro Dealer Group of the Year. To be considered for the award, the Group is required to have a minimum of two dealerships contributing a minimum of 2% towards the overall Volkswagen Dealer sales result.

The Macro Dealer Group of the Year award was won by Brad Kaftel of Hatfield Group. The Hatfield Group can be very proud of this achievement as it is the fifth consecutive win in this category for the group. To qualify for this category the dealership must contribute at least 8% towards the overall Volkswagen Dealer Sales result.

The coveted Dealer of the Year award was won by Lemmy Dolezal of Alan Hudson Motors who is a first–time winner in this category. The Dealer of the Year award is given to the Dealership that delivers the best and most consistent overall results across the business.

“Volkswagen remains a success due to the contribution of thousands of team members from our manufacturing plant right through to our after-sales service. Our dealer network plays a pivotal role in driving our sales each year. We could not be prouder of the dealer network’s achievements and are grateful for their contribution to the success of Volkswagen in the local passenger car market,” concluded Knapp.